Rhulenhof and Huys de Dohm are closed as of 2010.



   Hidden paradises along the Meuse river

Limburg’s identity has developed in part from the social and cultural history of the Meuse river basin. The typical characteristic of the region is its wealth of manor houses, country estates, monasteries and fortified towns, which nestle in the landscape of the province. These points of interest are connected together by the Meuse, which flows through the whole province and gradually reveals its green secrets to visitors.



   The Region

Limburg is the southernmost province of the Netherlands. To the north, it is bordered by the provinces of Gelderland and Nord-Brabant, to the east by Germany and to the south by Belgium. The province was created in 1830 after it had been given to the Kingdom of the United Netherlands as an eleventh province at the Congress of Vienna. Today, Limburg comprises approximately 40 municipalities which are home to about 1,100,000 million people. Maastricht is the capital and administrative centre.




   Garden Design of the Region

Limburg province boasts a varied landscape culture which combines with the region’s architectural culture to form an exceptional ensemble. The unique nature of this cultural landscape gives Limburg its special character. The area’s cultural heritage includes manor houses, castles, churches, farmyards and village centres with protected status, which still exist in many different forms in the region.