Visitors to St Anne’s will be able to step back into history and to stroll through the parkland landscape that was once a rural estate on the perimeter of the city. The layout of St Anne’s is typical 17th century English park land design with rolling lawns and rides with a background tapestry of tree planting, in this case heavily relying on Evergreen Oaks and pines. Typical to this idealised landscape are its Arcadian illusions: in St. Anne’s they include eleven garden follies following the path of the Naniken River.
Lady Olivia, the wife of Arthur Guinness, being an admirer of the French style of houses and gardens, incorporated the main avenue running westward lined with Austrian Pine and Holm Oak. The remains of other grand allées still echo in the park and provide strong landscape elements all year round due to their evergreen qualities.
St. Anne's also boasts a renowned Rose Garden which was opened to the public in 1980 and since 1981 it has been a centre for International Rose Trials.
To celebrate Dublin’s Millennium year in 1988, the Parks Department in co-operation with the Tree Council of Ireland, initiated the Millennium Arboretum. Consisting of 16 acres, the arboretum is planted with over 1000 types of trees and was sponsored by 1000 participants. More recently, improvements to the park include the refurbishment of the Red Stables, providing an Arts Centre and Restaurant and new entrance gates and piers at the end of the Main Avenue.